top of page

Awards & Honors


  • Pushcart Prize, 2021 

  • First Prize, Public Poetry Contest, Houston Public Library, 2020

  • Best of the Net, 2019

  • Paumanok Poetry Award, Farmingdale State College, SUNY, 2016

  • The Ekphrasis Prize for Poetry, 2012

  • Georgia Author of the Year Award for Poetry, 2012.

  • Pushcart Prize, 2012

  • Gretchen Warren Award, New England Poetry Club, 2011. 

  • First Prize for Poetry, Monadnock Writers Group, anthology on subject of memory, 2010

  • Erika Mumford Prize, New England Poetry Club, 2008

  • Inaugural Fellow, The Georgia Review Bowers House, Canon, GA, 2007

  • Writer in Residence at Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest - Clermont, Kentucky, 2003

  • Commencement Speaker and recipient of honorary doctorate, University of Indianapolis, 2002

  • Named to the Georgia Poetry Circuit, 2001-2002 

  • James Boatwright III Prize for Poetry from Shenandoah, 2001 

  • Sheila Margaret Motton Prize for Zoo, New England Poetry Club, 2001 

  • Miriam Lindberg Israel Poetry for Peace Prize (runner up), 2000 

  • Creative Renewal Fellowship, Arts Council of Indianapolis, 1999-2000 

  • Ezra Pound Poetry Award for Zoo, Truman State University, 1998 

  • Individual Artist Fellowship, Indiana Arts Commission, 1996-97 

  • Firman Houghton Award, New England Poetry Club, 1996 

  • Anna Davidson Rosenberg Award for Poems on the Jewish Experience (second place), 1996 

  • Award of Excellence in Poetry, Hopewell Review, 1995 

  • First Prize, Abiko Quarterly International Poetry Competition (Japan), 1994 

  • The Lucille Medwick Memorial Award, Poetry Society of America, 1993 

  • Teacher of the Year, University of Indianapolis, 1993 

  • Finalist for the Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award, Poetry Society of America, 1992 

  • First Place, Start with Art Literary Competition, Indianapolis, 1992 

  • Cecil Hemley Memorial Award, Poetry Society of America, 1990 

  • Erika Mumford Prize, New England Poetry Club, 1990 

  • Midwest Poetry Award, Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature, 1990 

  • Consuelo Ford Award, Poetry Society of America, 1988

  • National Bronze Medalist for teaching excellence, Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (Washington, DC), 1987

  • Commissioned to write commemorative poem, “The Building,” for the opening of the Robert P. Bell Building at Ball State University, 1984

Fellowships include:  MacDowell, Yaddo, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, Millay Colony, Ragdale, Leighton Art Colony, Kalani Honua, Dorland, Byrdcliffe Writers’ Colony, and Mary Anderson Center.


Biographical/Critical articles in Dictionary of Midwestern Literature, Contemporary Authors New Revision Series, and Who’s Who in America.

bottom of page